How to: Make a plan – achieve your goals

Your next holiday is just around, you’re already counting the days. Right now is the perfect time to prepare yourself for the next surf – physically. In this post I’d like to show you, how start it so that you will reach your goals.

In fact, for me it’s almost time. In five weeks I will board a plane and head up for the sun again. This time I will focus on my take off. I already told you that it’s really slow. I have a new, smaller board and I really want to surf it, though. Although I had overcome my lack of motivation and already train regularly, but I want to focus my training and make it more targeted. And this is how I do it…

To achieve goals you first have to have some

Goals are very powerful. Because once you make it concrete something all your senses will be aimed. Be as specific as possible. Just to say, “I want to be fitter” is not enough here. How will you check it? Your goals need to be verified later. A simple example: “I want to be able to do 10 regular push ups in a row within the next four weeks.”
Next step: write it down! Only then your desire becomes something material. From the mere thought to a concrete statement of intent. It’s a little bit like making a contract with yourself. I have listed my goals on a whiteboard and placed it visible in my living room. Now I see it every time when I sit on my couch and I am reminded. A simple sheet of paper works also, of course.

Preperation_Plan_Surf

You have your goals – now you need a plan

Now that you have determined what you want to achieve, it is time for a plan.
First I set up rules which apply to the whole period. These include things like, go to work by bike or don’t drink alcohol.
In addition, I make a weekly schedule for the workouts. I always make a plan one week in advance. So I can consider my work and personal appointments and make fix appointments for my workout. (I wrote about a well balanced workout plan here)

Preperation_Plan_Surf_1

Take on a challenge

Maybe you’re more like a type that would rather stick to a predetermined plan. Look for a challenge. The Internet is full of it and it is available for almost everything: 30 days Yoga, 30 days Squat Challenge, 30 days Beach body… just to name a few. Quite apart from whether the promised results will be achieved or not, you have at least a workout for every day which you can stick to. Another advantage is, that you can network with other people who do it and motivate each other. But don’t forget to add the workouts in your schedule.

30 Tage Challenge Pic

Again the thing with the motivation

You have your goals, you have a plan. Now you only have to stick to it. It sounds so simple, unfortunately it isn’t in reality. What really helps me, is this simple sentence:

31 days as active as possible

And let me tell you why: it contains the following:

  • a time period that tells me: There are only – in this case – 31 days, then I can theoretically be lazy again. But these 31 days I will persevere.

  • On the other hand, it is a challenge for me: “as active as possible”. That forces me to reflect and ask myself, is it really everything you gave? Am I as active as possible or can I do more?

This works at least for me. You know better than me what works for you. And when you still need a motivation read this post again.

Push hard!

So, I have my plan! I am highly motivated and of course I will keep you updated. And I will also let you know if I will actually manage to surf a wave with my new board. If you have any questions, just write me!

When do you usually start with the sporty preparations for your surf trip? And what are you doing actually? How do you motivate yourself?

stay stoked and hang loose

Leave a Reply

